DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Dragster wing angle?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dragster wing angle?
 Login/Join

DRR Top Comp
posted
I understand this question is entirely too vague to give a definitive answer......
After running 1/8 mile for the last few years, running a full 1/4 mile in Bakersfield was a real eye opener.....
Man 180 is a crapload faster than 148.. I know, no shyt dummy..
Seems right after I went by the 1/8 marker my dragster would start moving around a lot Right now I have a 1-1-1/2 degree down angle...I first put a wing on to address this 15yrs ago when I first got the car..Since I set it at only 1-ish degree down I always assumed the spill plates actually fixed the wander...But now I'm thinking of giving it at least a few more degrees down...When I first did all this the dragster only ran 165-170 (small block) now it's 180 (big block)

As I said, impossible to say do XYZ ,,,,, but just some general thoughts please...

Dave

F J B

Posts: 4472 | Location: Earth | Registered: February 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
Picture of SCDIV1
posted Hide Post
I've run just under 180 W.O.T. without a wing and had no issues with moving around as you call it...

Many runs at mid 170's in S/C mode and I think very few runs that I ever felt "loose"

Only time that might have happened was on a cold poorly prepped track or in a cross wind condition

Sounds like your car has some kind of issue that needs addressing or where your racing is a junk track or a tire issue ?? and a wing is not the answer...IMHO

Posts: 2733 | Location: Where ever I am, I'm here and it's me | Registered: March 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Elite
posted Hide Post
170 was the area where I felt unstable. With the wing....stable. Never more than a couple degrees.

Foxtrot Juliet Bravo

Posts: 6411 | Location: Illinois | Registered: July 08, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post