Notify
Tools

Brake Issues
 Login/Join

DRR Pro
Picture of chasracer
posted
Monza - about 2200 at race weight.

Multiple issues but the one I want to look at for now is the brakes.

I need to measure and get the pedal ratio.

We have Aerospace 4-piston disc kit on the front and it is installed per the instructions.

I have a conversion kit on the rear using single puck calipers (mid 70's GM). Think the discs are 11".

Main issue (I think) is line pressure, pushing on burn outs, pushing on staging, and I don't dare think about the first turn out. I usually let it coast out to the last turn out.

I have a Wilwood tandem master and it's a 1.062 bore. Whatever the issue is, I'm not sure it's right for this combination of gear.

Posts: 1135 | Location: The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?” ~~ Captain Jack Sparrow ~~ | Registered: August 21, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post
I had a collapse rubber flex line going to rearend on my car cause brake issues a while back.
I could put the car on jack stands and couldn’t get motor over 2000 rpms in gear before wheels started turning.

Posts: 2591 | Location: at the track | Registered: May 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
Picture of Bad Nusz
posted Hide Post
I have a gauge like this permanantly installed in my front brake circuit.

https://www.speedwaymotors.com...ssure-Gauge,592.html

It has been a very helpful educational and diagnostic tool for me.

Let us know please what your brake pedal ratio is.
What is your brake pedal effort? How about the brake pedal travel distance?

You probably already know that disc brakes require far more effort than drum brakes, which I reckon is why power boosters became so common in factory setups when disc brakes came out.

What composition of brake pads are you using? Some have better cold 'bite' than others; I think that organic pads are supposed to be the best.