DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  General Discussion - by FTI    Hypothetical scenario challenge, what say you?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
Hypothetical scenario challenge, what say you?
 Login/Join
 
DRR Top Comp
posted
I’m giving you a hypothetical situation.

Let’s say the race is down to three cars and obviously one car has a bye into the final.

The car who has the bye cannot make the call.

This leaves the two cars that were going to race in the semifinals.

Now what happens?

And just to throw a monkey wrench in the works, there is winner, runner-up and semifinals payouts.

Don’t forget the track points program. Who gets what points?

Okay, go!!


Clowns to the left of me, Jokers to the right. Here I am.......
 
Posts: 5326 | Location: stuck in the middle with you! | Registered: March 11, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Cashflow:
I’m giving you a hypothetical situation.

Let’s say the race is down to three cars and obviously one car has a bye into the final.

The car who has the bye cannot make the call.

This leaves the two cars that were going to race in the semifinals.

Now what happens?

And just to throw a monkey wrench in the works, there is winner, runner-up and semifinals payouts.

Don’t forget the track points program. Who gets what points?

Okay, go!!


The car that cannot make the call gets the semi final money and any points that come with it. The other two cars run a final round, if they want to split the first and second place money, they can do that before leaving the staging lanes. Points are given to them based on the results of that final round. Take care. Tom Worthington


If it seems that bracket racing has gotten too expensive for you, maybe you are just doing it wrong.
 
Posts: 1254 | Location: Rocky Mount, NC | Registered: December 01, 1999Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
I agree with Tom on this. He said exactly what I was thinking.
 
Posts: 509 | Location: Going to or returning from the chipmine. | Registered: July 01, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
Seems like it's easy to give someone else's money away but technically if you can't make the round,...you didn't run the round and would get paid for the 1/4 final and the two semis would get the choice of a single run or the track can do this manually and then run a final.


I'm not in a bad mood, I just look that way.........
 
Posts: 1006 | Location: Kingman, Arizona | Registered: March 29, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of CURTIS REED
posted Hide Post
At my track and in my mind if you don't make the call you get points and money if there is any coming based on the last round you tripped the beams. The 2 cars that make the call are the final and points/money is given accordingly.



____________________________
2017 and 2018 Osage Casinos Tulsa Raceway Park No-Box Champion

2018 Div4 Goodguys Hammer award winner
 
Posts: 3027 | Location: KIEFER, OK. | Registered: August 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
Picture of Curly1
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Tom396:
quote:
Originally posted by Cashflow:
I’m giving you a hypothetical situation.

Let’s say the race is down to three cars and obviously one car has a bye into the final.

The car who has the bye cannot make the call.

This leaves the two cars that were going to race in the semifinals.

Now what happens?

And just to throw a monkey wrench in the works, there is winner, runner-up and semifinals payouts.

Don’t forget the track points program. Who gets what points?

Okay, go!!


The car that cannot make the call gets the semi final money and any points that come with it. The other two cars run a final round, if they want to split the first and second place money, they can do that before leaving the staging lanes. Points are given to them based on the results of that final round. Take care. Tom Worthington


I think it is a bad deal but as I understand the rules you need to stage the car under its own power and take the tree to get the round. So the guy who could not make the call is just out and will get paid for last round he won.


https://postimg.cc/gallery/np3zpruo/
"Dunning-Kruger Effect"
-a type of Cognitive bias where people with little expertise or ability assume they have superior expertise or ability. This overestimation occurs as a result of the fact that they do not have enough knowledge to know they don't have enough knowledge.

Before you argue with someone ask yourself, "Is this person mentally mature enough to grasp the concept of a different perspective?" If not there is no point to argue.

4X NE2 CHAMPION. 2020 TDRA NE2 Champion
 
Posts: 4138 | Location: United States of Texas | Registered: April 02, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by CURTIS REED:
At my track and in my mind if you don't make the call you get points and money if there is any coming based on the last round you tripped the beams. The 2 cars that make the call are the final and points/money is given accordingly.


Same with my track. You get 10 points to show up and an additional 10 with each round won. You don’t have to stage in the next round to get the points.

In this situation with the bye car not making the call I think the winner/RU might not get the full amount of points because the semi and the final are the same race.
 
Posts: 732 | Location: Upstate NY | Registered: July 02, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post



DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
Based on the track, the race director has the final word.
Years ago I was at a bracket race in Phoenix by a lake. I was a non points gambler during and in between fuel car testing n January.
Well, I made it to the final and as we were pulling out to the track the staging guy say's "you know this is winner take all, right?" I jokingly said "I'd like to see that guy get a little something for making the final."
I won and when I went to get paid they had paid everyone to the quarters in a gambler!
I think it was because I was from out of town.
Race director's decision is final. Razz


I'm not in a bad mood, I just look that way.........
 
Posts: 1006 | Location: Kingman, Arizona | Registered: March 29, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
Picture of Nim Rod
posted Hide Post
I would say technically it's always a wait and see buy. If he doesn't show, it's the final. He gets semi money as he won the round before putting him there. Finals money is up to the guys that made the call.


------------------------------------
Not Hot Rod, not Super Rod, not Quick Rod, but the one and only NimRod
 
Posts: 223 | Location: The Weeds | Registered: August 10, 2023Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
I doubt if many tracks would do this,but what if the two cars race in the semi finals and the winner gets a bye in the final?

Then,he actually has to stage the car on his bye run in the final,but it won't start or is broken.

Now would there be no winner declared and the track keeps the winner money?
 
Posts: 1171 | Location: Elgin,IL | Registered: February 08, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of SlyFox
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Nim Rod:
I would say technically it's always a wait and see buy. If he doesn't show, it's the final. He gets semi money as he won the round before putting him there. Finals money is up to the guys that made the call.


Unless there is a ladder, this is exactly correct. There is not a bye run, because only two cars showed up to staging lanes.


Mike
 
Posts: 1576 | Location: Marietta, GA | Registered: December 09, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of Mark Yeager
posted Hide Post
The broke car with the bye in the semis gets quarter final money and points. (didn't stage for semis)

Other semi pair races, Winner get bye in final, loser get semis money and Points. No runner up money or points paid out.

Thats the way I believe NHRA would handle it.


Mark Yeager
 
Posts: 1383 | Location: Hollister,CA | Registered: April 06, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
Depends on the track and track rules.Some tracks use to let you sit out a bye run,meaning you didn't have to stage the car.Have seen that situation before.....
 
Posts: 262 | Location: Fayetteville | Registered: May 05, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
Picture of Lenny5160
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Mark Yeager:
The broke car with the bye in the semis gets quarter final money and points. (didn't stage for semis)

Other semi pair races, Winner get bye in final, loser get semis money and Points. No runner up money or points paid out.

Thats the way I believe NHRA would handle it.


This just happened in Super Gas at the final D7 event in Vegas last year.

https://www.dragracecentral.co...er=Year2023#indextop

The broken car received full points as if he had shown up and lost in a 6th round semifinal. The other two cars raced that round as the final, but were given points as if they had both run the semifinal round and won it (This is the round in the link. Nobody actually staged for this round.)

It can really depend on exact track wording, if they have it. For example, do they pay "second round winners" or do they pay "third round losers"? I've had that exact scenario bite me when the car broke after winning Round 2. I went to get my money in the tower, and ended up leaving empty-handed but telling them that next time I'd leak trans fluid all over the starting line but collect the money.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Lenny5160,


Tony Leonard
 
Posts: 3185 | Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN | Registered: March 18, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post



DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post
Agree with Mark/Lenny.
If the car is broke, doesn’t show up and cannot stage under its own power then yes, no points or money.
That should be the standard.

If in the essence of a curfew/ weather etc the director can ask you to not stage and report to the next round.


Raceless in California!
 
Posts: 4562 | Location: Vacaville  | Registered: January 07, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
Picture of Lenny5160
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by BP758:
Agree with Mark/Lenny.
If the car is broke, doesn’t show up and cannot stage under its own power then yes, no points or money.
That should be the standard.

If in the essence of a curfew/ weather etc the director can ask you to not stage and report to the next round.


Maybe I wasn’t clear, but you are stating the opposite of my opinion.

I believe the money/points are earned based on the rounds that were won.

The NHRA scenario I described above was handled correctly, IMO. But if there is no ladder, it really isn’t as clear.


Tony Leonard
 
Posts: 3185 | Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN | Registered: March 18, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of Goob
posted Hide Post
Broke racer gets paid runner up money, but scores no point for the round.
The winner of the semi-final pairing has a bye in the final, runner up gets paid semi-final money and no point for the round loss.

(The bye car was guaranteed the runner up at that point, the other was only guaranteed semi-finalist.)

**** If the local rule is that you have to stage, even on a bye.****

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Goob,


"Despite the high cost of living, it remains popular."
Dave Cook
N375
 
Posts: 1727 | Location: Indy | Registered: November 21, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post
Yeah I screwed that up!


Raceless in California!
 
Posts: 4562 | Location: Vacaville  | Registered: January 07, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
i think goob is right. what about the money, if a split has already been made?
 
Posts: 94 | Location: goldsboro,nc | Registered: January 13, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
Picture of Lenny5160
posted Hide Post
When I replied earlier, I was at work and I guess I didn’t read closely enough. The bye car being the one not making the call does complicate it a bit.

Now I’m thinking there would be two semifinal’s and a winner. No runner up. That’s with a ladder.

Without a ladder, the car not making the call is the semifinalist, the other two are winner and runner-up. If the purse structure is based on round money, the semi and runner-up would get the same money as they won the same number of rounds.

Great thought exercise; anyone running a race should have a plan in place for this!


Tony Leonard
 
Posts: 3185 | Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN | Registered: March 18, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
  Powered by Social Strata Page 1 2  
 

DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  General Discussion - by FTI    Hypothetical scenario challenge, what say you?

© DragRaceResults.com 2024