DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  General Discussion - by FTI    Do the rules apply to Force?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
Do the rules apply to Force?
 Login/Join
 
DRR Pro
Picture of SlyFox
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Big Steve:
Whether the bottom bulb flickering should of triggered a red light in Forces lane is a compulink question, no fault of Force.


^^^^^^^^

This is the key takeaway here...


Mike
 
Posts: 1562 | Location: Marietta, GA | Registered: December 09, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by SlyFox:
quote:
Originally posted by Big Steve:
Whether the bottom bulb flickering should of triggered a red light in Forces lane is a compulink question, no fault of Force.


^^^^^^^^

This is the key takeaway here...


What's the rule? If the bottom bulb flickers in your lane, you lose right?

Did the bottom bulb flicker observably?

It doesn't say anything about the french fryer kicking on, or any other such phenomenon, flickering the bottom bulb in the rule book right?

It just says if the bottom bulb flickers in your lane, you lose automatically right?

These are unbiased sensible questions, yet to be answered.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Mike Rietow,
 
Posts: 9398 | Location: Madeira Beach Fl. | Registered: June 12, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of SlyFox
posted Hide Post
Force is not responsible for, nor in control of, whatever the timing system does or does not do. It's not like he ran over one of the timing blocks or anything.


Mike
 
Posts: 1562 | Location: Marietta, GA | Registered: December 09, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by SlyFox:
Force is not responsible for, nor in control of, whatever the timing system does or does not do. It's not like he ran over one of the timing blocks or anything.


I never said Force was responsible for glitches in the timing equipment.

The question is, what does the rule book say about flickering the bottom bulb?

Does it say if the bottom bulb flickers in your lane, you lose automatically?

If Force isn't responsible for glitches in the timing equipment, neither is Cruz.

What does the rule book say?

This is the subject of the title of this thread, so try not to get overly emotional Karen.
 
Posts: 9398 | Location: Madeira Beach Fl. | Registered: June 12, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post
If he rolls in and flicked bulb shallow then he goes red. No timer start…. If he goes in deep and then flickers stage light -it does not matter, timers have started.


Raceless in California!
 
Posts: 4444 | Location: Vacaville  | Registered: January 07, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of sr4440
posted Hide Post
Since your time starts when the bottom bulb goes off, if you flicker it, and the tree was active, your time would start because the system thinks you have left the starting line. If you flicker it, after being pre-staged and staged, but the tree is not active, is that leaving the starting line before the tree is active? I think this is a call that compulink can't make and has to be made by the starter.

Personal, i don't care about force, i want to know what the rule is. I have a powerglide that backs up 2 inches when you engage the transbrake, this would be awesome for a deep stager that can use a brake, just pull a John force when you stage.


Without data, you’re just another guy with an opinion.
 
Posts: 1297 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: February 07, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post
Guard beam come into play there?


Raceless in California!
 
Posts: 4444 | Location: Vacaville  | Registered: January 07, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post



DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by sr4440:
Since your time starts when the bottom bulb goes off, if you flicker it, and the tree was active, your time would start because the system thinks you have left the starting line. If you flicker it, after being pre-staged and staged, but the tree is not active, is that leaving the starting line before the tree is active? I think this is a call that compulink can't make and has to be made by the starter.

Personal, i don't care about force, i want to know what the rule is. I have a powerglide that backs up 2 inches when you engage the transbrake, this would be awesome for a deep stager that can use a brake, just pull a John force when you stage.


Usually there's a NHRA clarification with an explanation from Brockmeyer (Compulink).

The parameters could've just been set wrong, I dunno.

Wait for a clarification, sure as the sun sets NHRA WILL supply one.
 
Posts: 9398 | Location: Madeira Beach Fl. | Registered: June 12, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
It should be standard by now, they go to the video before a final decision is made.

Every other major sport has instituted video replay, for the final say.
 
Posts: 9398 | Location: Madeira Beach Fl. | Registered: June 12, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of sr4440
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by BP758:
Guard beam come into play there?

"Some tracks use a third infrared beam, called a guard beam. Its job is to prevent a part hanging underneath or in front of the car from blocking the stage and guard beams. This could result in giving a racer an unfair advantage by giving them a rolling start before the elapsed time (ET) clock starts and reducing the racer’s ET. A red foul light is triggered when the guard beam is activated while the stage light is still lit, automatically disqualifying the offending racer."
https://www.onallcylinders.com...stage-your-drag-car/


Without data, you’re just another guy with an opinion.
 
Posts: 1297 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: February 07, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of Goob
posted Hide Post
You can be flickering the stage beam, shallow or deep, you only have to be "in" when the tree fires.


"Despite the high cost of living, it remains popular."
Dave Cook
N375
 
Posts: 1578 | Location: Indy | Registered: November 21, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of sr4440
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Goob:
You can be flickering the stage beam, shallow or deep, you only have to be "in" when the tree fires.


ok, but if you flicker it deep, haven't you left the stating line before the tree was active?


Without data, you’re just another guy with an opinion.
 
Posts: 1297 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: February 07, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
I suppose he technically rolled through the beams but the bottom bulb was on when the tree lit up so technically as far as the tree knows he was in.

ep
 
Posts: 757 | Location: dodging double wides... | Registered: November 28, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Elite
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Goob:
You can be flickering the stage beam, shallow or deep, you only have to be "in" when the tree fires.

This^^^
 
Posts: 13522 | Location: NJ | Registered: August 20, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post



DRR Pro
Picture of CURTIS REED
posted Hide Post
How do you flicker the bottom after rolling through and putting the top light out without going so far that you should have been red lighted?



____________________________
2017 and 2018 Osage Casinos Tulsa Raceway Park No-Box Champion

2018 Div4 Goodguys Hammer award winner
 
Posts: 2904 | Location: KIEFER, OK. | Registered: August 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
Picture of Curly1
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by CURTIS REED:
How do you flicker the bottom after rolling through and putting the top light out without going so far that you should have been red lighted?


Well that is what I was thinking but honestly I never deep stage so just have not paid much attention to that and do not know the answer to it. Has to be something with way system is set up.


https://postimg.cc/gallery/np3zpruo/
"Dunning-Kruger Effect"
-a type of Cognitive bias where people with little expertise or ability assume they have superior expertise or ability. This overestimation occurs as a result of the fact that they do not have enough knowledge to know they don't have enough knowledge.

Before you argue with someone ask yourself, "Is this person mentally mature enough to grasp the concept of a different perspective?" If not there is no point to argue.

4X NE2 CHAMPION. 2020 TDRA NE2 Champion
 
Posts: 3949 | Location: United States of Texas | Registered: April 02, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
Picture of 60 falcon
posted Hide Post
It also shows Force's reaction time as -.275


sammy mathis
 
Posts: 67 | Location: iowa park, texas | Registered: October 04, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 60 falcon:
It also shows Force's reaction time as -.275


He must have reacted to Cruz's WAY early leave...

This message has been edited. Last edited by: imakehp,


.
Dave



F J B

 
Posts: 4436 | Location: Earth | Registered: February 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
Picture of ChuckT
posted Hide Post
I would think/hope Compulink is set up to where if someone turns off the stage bulb, it's a foul start. I watched the round on Sunday's coverage, and I'm wondering if the tree fired right before Force flickered the stage bulb off. I have not gone back to watch the replays.


'81 Cutlass, KX05, Keystone Raceway Park
Millerstown Pic-A-Part, Tarentum, PA
Wholesale Transmission, New Kensington, PA
Thinking of Nikki and Mark - forever 53
 
Posts: 7224 | Location: Pittsburgh | Registered: December 07, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
Should have been a rerun. Nhra failed to make the correct decision!
 
Posts: 61 | Location: home | Registered: February 04, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
  Powered by Social Strata Page 1 2 3  
 

DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  General Discussion - by FTI    Do the rules apply to Force?

© DragRaceResults.com 2024