DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    High gear only set up
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

High gear only set up
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
posted
Does anyone make a high gear valve body that is not aluminum? Also, in a light door car, how much difference in converter is expected to be a consistent set up? Thanks for any help

Posts: 46 | Location: stonypoint,nc | Registered: October 11, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of 57 Vette
posted Hide Post
I have been running a High Gear set up in my Corvette for 10 years now. You can use the same converter as a 2 speed, but should be a spragless style to last, since it loads the converter much more. It's about 5 tenths slower. Coan makes the cast valve body you need and want.

IHRA ACDELCO Canadian Nationals
Top/et Iron man Champion Wink
Don Davis 57 Corvette Super Gas roadster Cool
SDPC Race Shop 582 Head Hunter on methanol

Posts: 268 | Location: Toronto Ont/Surprise AZ | Registered: August 18, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
PM sent

Denis LeBlanc

Posts: 468 | Location: Manchester, NH | Registered: February 03, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
High gear only, sounds expensive when you can accomplish the same thing putting it in high gear simultaneous to transmission brake release, using a timer.

Posts: 9398 | Location: Madeira Beach Fl. | Registered: June 12, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
I must agree with retow on this. I can shift .20 out and lose .40 in et. And if you want to move et around during race just move shift point around. You can dial and run what you want pretty much. Mine works out about 1 to 1 to a point when I shift that early. Naturally the later you shift as the converter starts working it won’t be 1 to 1 but early it is close

ep