DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Crank Trigger Timing Problem
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Crank Trigger Timing Problem
 Login/Join

DRR S/Pro
posted
I have the earlier version of the 7AL-3 (7230) with a MSD crank trigger, all connected to a MSD Grid. I've been running the car using these items for the past four years with no problems, I've checked the timing many time, it has always been spot on. Two days ago I checked the timing which had been statically set at 35 degrees and found that it was actually 22 degrees (total) with a timing light.

(1)There is no start retard (the three terminals on the 7AL-3 do not have a 12 volt connection, all the retard terminals on the 7AL-3 are grounded.

(2) The "Launch retard" total in the Grid is 1.5 degrees and comes in at 4 seconds from the release of the trans brake button, (35 degrees less the retard of 1.5 = 33.5 total).

(3) I checked the ohm readings on the three "Zero chips" on top of the 7AL-3 as well as the burn-out chip, the launch chip, the max RPM chip and the switch chip, the ohm readings were correct for all of them.

(4) I checked the static timing with the damper at 35 degrees, it was spot on.

(5) The rotor is dead center on the #1 terminal in the cap.

(6) The ignition timing spec in the Grid is set at 35 degrees maximum.

Everything indicates that the timing should be at 35 degrees (the pick up is in the same location that it has been for the past four years, dead center in the bracket travel.

When using the timing light it reads 22 degrees (from 1000 rpm to 5000 rpm). I moved the pick up as far as it would go in the bracket (down) and the timing light indicates that it's now at 35 degrees total, the pick up clearance is .050 . The Craftsman timing light is accurate (it does not have the advance/retard feature) .

I have no idea why the total timing retarded from 35 degrees to 22, nothing was changed, nothing was added.