Find
Notify
Tools

Towing and a CDL
 Login/Join

DRR Sportsman
Picture of Mike Nitzsche
posted
I know this has been beat to death and I'm not posting this to debate any laws. I'm simply posting this for the sake of info for anyone interested. I've been towing with motorhomes and enclosed trailers for 20 years and never had a problem with the law. Two years ago my wife and I stepped up to a small gooseneck toter and I built a 38' stacker trailer. The reason for this was so we can do a little more traveling to some bigger races. Basically taking our version of "real vacations". I've read all the same stories as everyone else and decided for a little bit of peace of mind, I would go ahead and get a class A CDL. I have been in communication with my states DOT. Fed and state branches told me I did not need one, but encouraged me to get one. For the record, I'm nearly 50,000#'s and 71.5' long.

I'm sure all states are a little different, but this story pertains to Michigan. I passed the physical and got a 2 year card. I then passed my 3 written tests at the SOS to get a permit. I found a local tester, who worked with me to do testing on nights and weekends. I took my rig for the first test. I passed the pre trip easily, but the off road skills did not go well and I failed the 90 degree alley dock. Afterwards the tester told me "I would never pass with this setup"......and I believe him.

I then did a lot of research and found out if I had a class B with air brakes, I could take a class A with a hydro brake setup and the air brakes would transfer up. I took a second test with just the motorhome for a B. Completely aced it. I waited a couple weeks, got another permit, and went back with a 13K dually and 16K rental open trailer and aced my A test. I just received my new license today, so I figure everything went well with the state, and it does not have an air brake restriction.