DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Welder for new to welding
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Welder for new to welding
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
posted
Looking for input on welders. Will be doing basic sheet metal replacement on a couple project cars, and welding on my trailers,(open car and several landscaping trailers). I have some stick and MIG experience from school 20 years ago, so I certainly need to work on my capabilities. Fortunately, I have several old bits/pieces I can practice on without worrying about ruining a good part. While cost is definitely a consideration, I'm ok with paying a bit more for a high quality machine. What brands should I stay away from, and what brands/models to look for. Doesn't have to be new either. Thanks and have a great evening.

William Kilduff
1970 Barracuda
1968 Camaro X2
1968 Caprice
1964 F100

Posts: 111 | Location: Wilmington NC | Registered: June 15, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
So, which type are you wanting? Tig or Mig?

Dave

F J B

Posts: 4476 | Location: Earth | Registered: February 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
Mig. Interested in learning tig, but for my current needs, mig should be all I need.

William Kilduff
1970 Barracuda
1968 Camaro X2
1968 Caprice
1964 F100

Posts: 111 | Location: Wilmington NC | Registered: June 15, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
As I am sure you have found out there is so much stuff out there to pick and choose from.

The inverter machines are pretty much what everyone is going for in a new box.

Keep in mind that if you are looking at the multi-process machines, most will do stick, Mig and DC Tig. Like anything that is multi-purpose they do a fair job at everything, but typically they are not as adjustable as a individual machine built for a single purpose.