DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    What size power wire
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What size power wire
 Login/Join

DRR Sportsman
posted
I have a Davis Roadster and I am looking to change the main power wire. Anyone have any advice what size is best to use? I have heard that too big is too big and too small is too small, so what size is good.

Posts: 235 | Location: On the top of a bus! | Registered: April 03, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of 329L
posted Hide Post
0 if you dont have to run it through the frame. If you use 0, you will never need a 16 volt battery. My american has a 2 guage, and barely cranks the car with a 12 volt.

Jeremiah Hall

Posts: 708 | Location: Evansville, IN | Registered: February 24, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
I use 2/0, because it is accessible to me for cheap, as in free. I work in construction and the welding wire they dispose of I can have. I could get by with 1/0. There isnt that much difference other that the insulation is thicker on the 2/0. And yes, too small is bad, but the bigger the wire the less resistance, which is good.

Posts: 297 | Location: Nevada | Registered: February 01, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 329L:
0 if you dont have to run it through the frame. If you use 0, you will never need a 16 volt battery. My american has a 2 guage, and barely cranks the car with a 12 volt.

This, and don’t forget about the grounds too. Makes a big difference in cranking speed.

Posts: 718 | Location: Upstate NY | Registered: July 02, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of Goob
posted Hide Post
1/0 WELDING cable, if not, 2/0 standard cable.

"Despite the high cost of living, it remains popular."
Dave Cook
N375

Posts: 1672 | Location: Indy | Registered: November 21, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman