DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Diode connection tips
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Diode connection tips
 Login/Join

DRR Sportsman
Picture of Ron Gusack
posted
A couple years ago I posted a problem with a t-brake stumble and Mark schooled me about adding a diode to eliminate flyback voltage. This is an internal solenoid brake in a 400 trans. What's the proper way to install a solid wire diode to a stranded wire under a vibration prone race car? I've been told Wago lever and lots of tape, sounds sketchy to me. I'm not very good with solder, but if that's the ticket I'll give it a go.

Posts: 465 | Location: Maryland | Registered: January 23, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
strip wires back twist and solder heat shrink it and be done if you are not comfortable with solder you could butt connect it but I would still heat shrink it.

Posts: 418 | Location: Bellingham MA | Registered: October 21, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
Picture of Big Steve
posted Hide Post
^^^THIS^^^

Posts: 2528 | Location: Moving back to the door side | Registered: April 30, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
posted Hide Post
I use a non-insulated connector to go from a solid wire to stranded. I’ll crimp, then tin it slightly through the center stop hole. Heat shrink it and identify the band end.

Posts: 2645 | Location: 53056 | Registered: December 30, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
I've stopped using butt connectors in general. I use non insulated parallel connectors for all multi wire connectors and diodes. As for heat shrink I use thick glue lined clear stuff on my diodes.

Denis LeBlanc

Posts: 500 | Location: Manchester, NH | Registered: February 03, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of Ron Gusack
posted Hide Post