DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  General Discussion - by FTI    How do you deal with your car after you crash it?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How do you deal with your car after you crash it?
 Login/Join

DRR Sportsman
Picture of Lucky Scott Hudson
posted
I have been racing the same 66 nova for almost 20 years. It was just a rolling body when I bought it at the Pomona Swap meet for $1500.00 and it took me several years to turn it into a race car. No windows, no motor trans, no interior, no wiring, just a body and a really crappy frame.
I worked on it all the time.
It went 12's and then over time I kept working on it until it got in the nines.
A friend helped me do the body work and paint, and after years of racing it became a good car. Won a lot of races, but most importantly I got to meet lots of great racers along the way.
Recently I did a back half and a new cage. First pass out after all the new work I crashed it. Hit the wall in the front hard and then bounced back and hit the other wall with the rear hard.
Front frame rails bad, the rear frame rails bad, and the body ruined. (roof and doors still good).
Not sure why it crashed and I didn't get hurt.
Now I need to decide if I should fix or replace.
I have been looking for a 66 or 67 nova roller but no luck yet. Would love to find one and put my motor and trans in it and go racing again. But its hard to let go of the car that has been such a big part of me for so long.
Chassi guy says lots of work and money and time. I might be able to buy a roller for less money and get back to doing what I love.
But if I spend the money, and the time to fix my car, I will have my car back....
Its hard to say good bye.

Any advice from the racers out there?

Posts: 1199 | Location: So Cal | Registered: March 12, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post