New
Find
Notify
Tools

Possible causes
 Login/Join

DRR Sportsman
posted
Ok. Got new motor 582 with much bigger heads than previous 555. Headed went from pro1 335cc to bbx380. Both cnc. Both motors ran well.

Since moving to this new motor I have a stumble when matting it to get on two step. Same carb APD 1150 on alky.

Went thru carb and rebuilt it few weeks ago. Car otherwise runs really well and repeats. I leave at near exact same temps every run at 180*. Watch racepak dash for water temps and trans temps. Car repeats get well.

I'm thinking it's the change in heads causing the stumble. If I bring up rpms it does it less, but still is sluggish. Every once in awhile.. Rare it comes up perfect. But many times it is sluggish.

I'm no carb expert so looking for ideas.

Thanks

Posts: 1434 | Location: St Marys | Registered: January 12, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
Here’s my order of operations for this issue. Not an expert by any means.

I’m assuming you already have 50cc pumps.

1. Bigger squirted on primary. If it gets a little better, put a bigger one in the secondary also.

2. If it’s better but only because it moves the stumble a little later, then move to the next pump cam on the primary

3.if it’s a 3 circuit carb, and it’s really being stubborn, drop about 5 numbers on the intermediate airbleeds. Start with primary only. Consider taking a couple numbers out of the high speed airbleed if the smaller intermediate bleed solves the issue. Many will shy away from this. Most will say intermediate bleeds are useless, should be removed completely, or the carb converted to 2 circuit. I have found the intermediate bleed to be a very useful tuning tool myself.

Posts: 928 | Location: my own little world | Registered: July 20, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
For harmony of rhythm staging, you need it to reach the rev limit the same every time.

Is this methanol or gasoline?