Share |
DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Balancer installer
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Balancer installer
 Login/Join

DRR Pro
Picture of Rhino
posted
I'm looking for a heavy duty balancer puller/installer that wont chew up the crank snout or strip the threads of the puller. Any suggestions ?

Rolla Competition Engines
Procharger Hemi
Spitzer Racecars

Posts: 1392 | Location: Harley Town Wisconsin USA | Registered: November 25, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
Picture of JP Miller
posted Hide Post

Posts: 52 | Location: Virginia | Registered: October 24, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of HS professor
posted Hide Post
I've been using a Snap-On for about 25 yrs, never had a problem. It's got a couple different style attachments for the crank snout so nothing touches the threads.

Posts: 1038 | Location: Monroe twp nj | Registered: December 05, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
Picture of SCDIV1
posted Hide Post
This one has worked for me for years and every other cheap one broke.

If you have to much press fit between the balancer and crank snout getting them on and off is ridiculously hard.

ATI balancers come with a spec sheet and they need to be honed to fit your crank if you're going to do it properly....

I am sure others sell the same tool set as ATI

Mine has never broke, failed, marked up anything.

I usually put a long wrench and pipe on it and wedge it under a bench to hold it from turning freeing up both hands...

la-207769765271&catargetid=230006180037475789&cadevice=c&gclid=Cj0KCQiA7dHSBRDEARIsAJhAHwgCoSqyDQVPrz6tFxXaQv8AMTu9ibgV3AOCRuxpyMKctx9vOXNwTNQaAiZbEALw_wcB" target="_blank">http://www.jegs.com/i/ATI/085/...OXNwTNQaAiZbEALw_wcB

Posts: 1471 | Location: Where ever I am, I'm here and it's me | Registered: March 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post