New
Find
Notify
Tools

Battery
 Login/Join

DRR Sportsman
posted
Ordered a 16 volt XP-1000 from Jegs this past Sunday, was expecting it tomorrow for a race this weekend, now I get a note from Jegs advising that it is being shipped from vendor on 9/30.
No problem I will just go to Summit in Arlington and pay the sales tax, well they don't have it either.
They do have the D1600 but it is a deep cycle for no alternator and I have a alternator.
Now, do I just buy the d1600 and still run an alternator or does someone know another source, near the DFW area.

Posts: 265 | Location: Irving, Texas | Registered: March 24, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of Stephen Hughes
posted Hide Post
I’ve been running the D1600 with alternator for a couple years with no issues.

The Pull-Out....for when you want to work smarter, not harder!!!

Posts: 336 | Location: Texas | Registered: September 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of Stephen Hughes
posted Hide Post
Also to add when I do charge it, I only use the XS 15 amp intellicharger that came with my xp1000 probably 4 or 5 years ago, burned up two of those after charging with a Schumacher 16v charger.

The Pull-Out....for when you want to work smarter, not harder!!!

Posts: 336 | Location: Texas | Registered: September 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
Thanks Stephen, that's what I needed to know, looks like it will be the D1600.

Posts: 265 | Location: Irving, Texas | Registered: March 24, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
posted Hide Post
Mopar, the D1600 is a good choice. I have four customers with that number in service, all with alternators. Also, the D1600 is a higher capacity rated.

My experience shows that with the modern AGM design the term "deep cycle" is not the same as when we were talking about trolling motor batteries. Rather, a more robust, more durable design.

Larry Woodfin