Find
Notify
Tools

Tubes?
 Login/Join

DRR Sportsman
Picture of Quick Dawg
posted
Thinking about putting tubes in my MT's so I can store the trailer & car without having the tires go down.

What is that going to do to how the car reacts and what changes will I have to make with air pressure?

Posts: 166 | Location: Salt Lake City | Registered: January 16, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
I know of no downside to running tubes.

The second part of your question is impossible to answer. You could bolt them on and need zero adjustment, love em from day one, or the car may require a shock adjustment or pressure. It won't require much though.

A better question might be, ... Is there any downside to tubes.

I'm an expert so we'll have a good debate... There is no downside.

When you first bolt them on the air trapped between the tire and tube will leak out overnight. This might make you think there leaking. Just air them up one more time to a set pressure.

Use baby powder when you mount.

Posts: 9398 | Location: Madeira Beach Fl. | Registered: June 12, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of Quick Dawg
posted Hide Post
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thank you Sir

Posts: 166 | Location: Salt Lake City | Registered: January 16, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Quick Dawg:
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thank you Sir

Anytime

Posts: 9398 | Location: Madeira Beach Fl. | Registered: June 12, 2018Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
posted Hide Post
quote:
Original post
I know of no downside to running tubes.

This was fixed with a tire plug while on the car in less than 5 minutes. Over 75 runs on the tire before it was replaced with no issues. Seen and done this same repair at the track also.

Posts: 2444 | Location: 53056 | Registered: December 30, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post
3 down sides to tubes that I know of!

- added costs