DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Deep Cycle battery maintenance
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Deep Cycle battery maintenance
 Login/Join

DRR Pro
Picture of Eman
posted
I've got a deep cycle 12v battery in my enclosed, it's used to operate the winch, trailer jack and interior lights. What is the best way to maintain it and charge it? From what I've read it should be recharged at a higher rate than a trickle charger. Can you use a battery maintainer on a deep cycle? Is it necessary?

Posts: 1461 | Location: E TN | Registered: February 13, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of rusty
posted Hide Post
im no expert but i keep a maintainer on everyting i can.all of those batteries last well.all are wet cell.keeping water level completely full is important.distilled

honesty is the best policy,insanity is a better deffense
1.036, 6.16@ 224

Posts: 1411 | Location: texas | Registered: February 17, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
I run 29DC batteries everywhere they will fit. I even converted my 48 volt golf cart over to them, and I keep a 1 amp maintainer on them whenever I am not using them. I normally get 4+ years out of them which is about normal for any battery here in the desert. The DC's are in my race trailer, on the tongues for the electric jacks, and in my work truck for starting and in the bed for the welder and air compressor. Even the race car has 2 29DC in the back.I have all the maintainers hard wired so all I have to do is unplug and go.

Posts: 297 | Location: Nevada | Registered: February 01, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Elite
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Eman:
I've got a deep cycle 12v battery in my enclosed, it's used to operate the winch, trailer jack and interior lights.

so do I and the only love it gets is it goes on the charger once at the beginning of the season to bring it up to full charge.