DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    ARC switch panel
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

ARC switch panel
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
Picture of Keith Walters
posted
Has anyone else had any issues from the ARC 8000R switch panel? I noticed mine randomly shut the ignition off last week after several rounds, fired it right back up and spaced it until loading it tonight, it did it again. I took the panel off my dash expecting to find the plug backed out or loose terminals but there wasn't. Cleaned the terminals slightly bent the male terminals to give it more tension in the plug, didn't help. I can turn any switch on and barley touch the ribbon chord and the relay drops out and the lights go from green to red. The bad connection appears to be at the panel or that end of the chord but there not much I can do to it. I've been running this panel for 9 years problem free until now. Any fixes? Thanks.

Posts: 6 | Location: whiteland, in | Registered: May 20, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of 369dragster
posted Hide Post
I was told that basically the only part that should go bad with that panel is the ribbon cable. They said you should always carry a spare.

Ken

Posts: 319 | Location: Massachusetts | Registered: March 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
I had the same issues last year until I replaced the ribbon cable and no issues since.

Posts: 106 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: September 20, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
Picture of sst5167
posted Hide Post
I have wired those switch panels in a handful of cars. I had the same issues with at least 4 different cars. I hated getting a call from a racer frustrated at me because his car is randomly shutting off. I will never wire another one in.

Mike Boehner

Posts: 92 | Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ | Registered: January 19, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy