DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Too much starter to Flexplate Clearance
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Too much starter to Flexplate Clearance
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
posted
Has anyone run into to much clearance between the end of the Bendix and the flex plate? I have .165" gap, Tilton recommends .100 +/- .040. Any companies make a longer Bendix to cure this, or an offset flex plate towards the block? Small block Chevy, Hitachi style starter. Currently has a Pioneer 153 tooth flex plate. Thanks

Posts: 142 | Location: Ashland,Va | Registered: March 29, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
Picture of 1leg
posted Hide Post
I'm not an expert on the Hitachi starter but you might be able to machine the motor side of the nose block down about .025". A good machine shop with a lathe should be able to look at it and see what to do.

Meziere Tech.
Make sure your water pump is on whenever you check your coolant level.

Posts: 235 | Location: Escondido | Registered: July 01, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
Picture of Lenny5160
posted Hide Post
Just to make sure this isn't really easy, there doesn't happen to be a shim installed between the nose and mounting block?

Tony Leonard

Posts: 3148 | Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN | Registered: March 18, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Lenny5160:
Just to make sure this isn't really easy, there doesn't happen to be a shim installed between the nose and mounting block?

Beat me to it. First thing I thought of.

Posts: 28 | Location: USA | Registered: February 23, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
Wish it was that easy!

Posts: 142 | Location: Ashland,Va | Registered: March 29, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of Mike Beck
posted Hide Post