DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Another DPF question - 2008 Duramax
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Another DPF question - 2008 Duramax
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
posted
Since the other deisel discussion has turned to DPF malfunctions, I'll post another related question. I have had some strange experiences lately with my 2008 Duramax. I took a video of the dash with it acting up on Friday. See the youtube video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MPa4BRNb0Yw

It's done this to me about 5 times now. Of those 5 times, this was only the second time that it gave me the "clean exhaust filter" message. That message popped up after it started this surging behavior when I tried t to pull away from a stop sign. 10 mph is about all the quicker it will go. If I push harder on the throttle, it just surges more violently. It only does this when it's time for a DPF regen, but it doesn't do it every time. The only cure I have found is to shut the ignition off and restart. If it's still not right, shut it off again and repeat until it runs right. On Friday, it was about the 5th time I restarted it that the truck immediately went into regen and it ran fine at that point.

The two times that it did this and gave me the "clean exhaust filter" message, it also threw a MAF sensor code (P0101) and went into limp mode (this video was taken after clearing the code and exiting limp mode). The other times, it never gave me any codes and the CEL never came on.

Anyone ever seen this before? I've only had the truck since October and it has 115,000 miles on it. All stock, no mods. This truck is my daily driver and it'll go for weeks with multiple regens, before this problem shows up again.

Ben Rawe 383H
1965 Chevy II Nova

Posts: 226 | Location: Alexandria, KY | Registered: April 04, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post