Find
Notify
Tools

Methanol & EFI?
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
Picture of Maxx Levell
posted
Anyone have any real world experience with running Methanol & EFI? I know some use both, but are there specific pitfalls to watch for? I'm assuming that ensuring the necessary volume of fuel with an electric pump(s)would be more of an issue than anything...but that's just a WAG at this point.

This would theoretically be using a Holley Dominator based EFI system.

I know folks have had deadly consistent results using MFI and methanol, and one would assume that this could be duplicated with EFI as well.

Any feedback appreciated!

Maxx Levell

If you're gonna be a bear...be a GRIZZLY!

Posts: 92 | Location: Henderson, KY | Registered: July 09, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post
I have been doing it for about 15 years. Used the Fast XFI and now for the past 4-5 seasons Holley Dominator.

You can run it in "dumb" mode kind of like MFI or with a bunch of corrections. I have run both ways and had the best results NA with no corrections. Now with the Procharger I have some corrections activated.

For years the thinking was to run the fuel with no lube and that's what I have been doing all this time. Recently, I noticed the high-end injectors saying to use lube.

Yea I would go belt drive.

As far as it being better than carb or MFI, there's plenty of good cars with each. Converter, tires, car setup IMO more important than how the fuel gets in.

You have one of the most knowedageable EFI guys nearby in Tennessee - TJ Tracey 901-275-2500.

Posts: 671 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: April 26, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
Picture of Maxx Levell
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the feedback Greg! I might have to give Mr. Tracy a call, or corner him at a track sometime and pick his brain.

How many O2 sensors are you running on your setup? Are you running one for each cylinder, or just one for each bank?

Maxx Levell