New
Find
Notify
Tools

14 degree heads
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
posted
I have a set of 14 degree dart heads. They are the older olds heads. One has a crack in the exhaust port that has been fixed a couple of times but still is leaking water into the cylinder. My question is if I buy a new set of 14 degree heads dart or brodix will all the valve train, springs and valves from the old heads fit.

Posts: 100 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: September 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of Alaskaracer
posted Hide Post
I don't think so. Darts stuff has changed and Brodix stuff is completely different.

I could be wrong though

Mark Goulette
Owner/Driver of the Livin' The Dream Racing dragster
www.livinthedreamracing.com
"Speed kills but it's better than going slow!"
Authorized Amsoil Retailer

Posts: 1465 | Location: Back home in Alaska! | Registered: February 13, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
If you’re going to the expense of switching heads would it not be better to move to 12 degree or better? You’d probably have to buy pistons too I’d assume.

Clowns to the left of me, Jokers to the right. Here I am.......

Posts: 5297 | Location: stuck in the middle with you! | Registered: March 11, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
Cash,

I would have to change the pistons.

Posts: 100 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: September 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
posted Hide Post
Are you sure your existing 14 degree pistons will work with the newer 14 degree heads? If so then I understand, if it turns out no then I would probably spend the extra money on later heads, new rockers and pistons.

I know it’s a big expense. I would love to build a new SR-20 combo but it’s not in the budget right now. Good luck!

Clowns to the left of me, Jokers to the right. Here I am.......