DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Filled block with methanol, brackets?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Filled block with methanol, brackets?
 Login/Join

DRR Elite
posted
I ended up with cracks radiating from the head bolt holes toward the #7 cylinder on the deck. I think we were not careful tightening the stud nuts, and we ended up bottoming the stud on the shoulder. I should throw a bb in the bottom of each hole and bottom the stud on it since the dart little m has blind holes. I didn't. And I haven't seen many with a good fix for this.

So my question is: Could a solution be filling the block? Is this workable with a bracket car that drives back and has quick turn arounds? Can you fill that high? If so, how do you circulate water in the heads? All these years of racing and I have no experience with block filling.

Foxtrot Juliet Bravo

Posts: 6406 | Location: Illinois | Registered: July 08, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Elite
posted Hide Post
Oh, I don't see that the cracks have made it to the cylinder. But there is a track on the gasket where the crack is. So I'm not entirely sure where the water is getting in. Will have to crack check when it is apart. But will a sleeve for sure fix it if we leave the deck crack near the bolt hole?

Foxtrot Juliet Bravo

Posts: 6406 | Location: Illinois | Registered: July 08, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post
I have a Chevy gen 6 block that that happened to but crack went to the cylinder. My shop put a sleeve in it and then a time cert I believe it was called into the threaded hole. I haven’t run that motor yet but he says he repaired a couple that way without issue.

Posts: 2591 | Location: at the track | Registered: May 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
Picture of TheBlueTruck
posted Hide Post