DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Timing light purchase
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Timing light purchase
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
posted
Going to purchase a new timing light, looking for reasonable cost, back in the day there was warning that not all timing lights would work correctly with MSD. any suggestions?

Posts: 22 | Location: ohio | Registered: August 15, 2017Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of 329L
posted Hide Post
Timing light just references a number, just be consistent with what you use and READ YOUR PLUGS! I have been using a non adjustable snap on for the last 10 years.

Jeremiah Hall

Posts: 704 | Location: Evansville, IN | Registered: February 24, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
Picture of Lenny5160
posted Hide Post
I used an adjustable Craftsman light for many years, with the adjustment dial set at zero. Worked fine with my MSD stuff.

I have a Flaming River battery operated light. I like the convenience of not having to tap into the fan circuit or something for power.

Tony Leonard

Posts: 3150 | Location: Inver Grove Heights, MN | Registered: March 18, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro
posted Hide Post
I mistakenly bought a C cell battery operated Proform timing light because it didn’t require a 12 volt source. It doesn’t produce enough light to see the timing marks, even when shielding the daylight.

Just wanted to warn you. Get a Snap-On or Craftsman timing light.

Bob

Posts: 3080 | Location: Lakeside, Ca | Registered: February 15, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
Picture of wideopen231
posted Hide Post
x 2 flaming river battery powered. Works great just make sure harmonic is degree correctly and you are good to go.

America home of free. Brought to you by 2nd amendment.

Posts: 4176 | Location: Greensboro NC | Registered: May 24, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR S/Pro