DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Valve train problems with 14 Dart 632 or not? Engine builders
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Valve train problems with 14 Dart 632 or not? Engine builders
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
posted
I have a 14 degree Dart Olds headed aluminum 632. It has Babbitt 55mm cam bearings and an aggressive profile. The spec’s are: 117 lobe separation, duration @50 284 I 310 Ex., lobe lift is .524 I .485 Ex. and using 1.75 rocker ratios. Gross lift is .917 I and .849 Ex. The problem I am having is, the engine is very hard to turn over, even with the spark plugs out.
Without the rockers on the torque at the crankshaft is 20-25 lbs. With the exhaust rockers bolted on it’s 90 lbs and with intake and exhaust rockers on it’s a bit over 150lbs. The engine made ok power at 1136 on the dyno but I would like to get some of you experienced engine builders to chime in with where to look to find the problem. To me it seems as if there is a spring bind thing going on but I am using the PSI 1248 springs and the installed height is 2.100.
Some people tell me this isn’t so unusual, and some say it is terrible. I tend to agree with the terrible part. That said, I haven’t checked the torque until this weekend and find it to be awfully tight. What concerns me the most is that it could put too much tension on the timing belt. Any help would be appreciated.

Posts: 82 | Location: Salt Lake City | Registered: August 06, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
The 1248 is good for .900 lift. Have you looked very close at the intake springs at max lift?

Abbott Racing Heads
(432) 558-2841

Posts: 39 | Location: Crane, Texas | Registered: January 12, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
Yes, I have looked but will be looking closer this weekend with checker springs.