DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    Trailer Brake Controller Bias - How Much?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Trailer Brake Controller Bias - How Much?
 Login/Join

DRR Sportsman
Picture of FootbrakeJim
posted
Just thought I would see what others are doing, and why.
How much of the stopping work do you want the trailer brakes to do, compared to the tow vehicle?
Not expecting everyone to agree, just looking for thoughts & ideas.
I've been towing trailers of various size & weight for over 30 years, with lots of different tow vehicles and brake controllers, some good, some not so much.
#1 aspect, of course, is obviously safety.
So let's say you hook up to a trailer you've never towed before. What is your controller adjustment routine? With my 28' enclosed, empty weight is right at 4500#, fully loaded just under 10K. Empty, I have my gain set at 4.5 (on a scale of 0-10), loaded I set it at 5.5 for dry conditions, highway trip.
Here is how I do it, (Again, using the assumption of towing a new or unknown trailer). Not saying it is the best way, and open to advice:
1st trip, set gain at 5, test braking function at low speed. Make a short trip, (around block, or whatever - In case trailer has been sitting and may have rust or dust to knock off the shoes & drums). Then from a stop, get moving about 5 mph, and use trailer brake hand control only, to gradually apply brakes, see what point on gain scale they begin to apply, and how "grabby" or touchy they are. Some go from nothing to full lock up with not much in between. Then I use the foot pedal, and see where gain scale is at for normal braking. I then try to adjust gain to where the trailer brakes are moderately applied at approximately the same rate as the truck brakes, on a normal gradual stop. I then repeat this process on a slightly harder braking rate.