DragRaceResults.Com    Bracket Talk    Bracket Talk Forum  Hop To Forum Categories  Tech Talk - by Abruzzi    electric impact gun debate
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

electric impact gun debate
 Login/Join

DRR Pro
posted
ive been using the snap on ct8850 18volt impact gun for several years and have had a lot of problems with the motors loosing power/strength after a period of time.
snap on will send em out for rebuild for 120.00 but after 5 or 6 months they seem to just run out of power again.
is anybody using any other brand electric impacts with any success?? im talking about daily use in an auto shop not once a month to rotate your tires.
snap on is now trying to push a Milwaukee fuel 2767-20 on me.
snap on says the reason im having the problem is excessive use and nobody else is having a problem with these impacts except me lol

Posts: 1424 | Location: united states | Registered: January 16, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Elite
posted Hide Post
Excessive use.
how dare you use your tools!

Foxtrot Juliet Bravo

Posts: 6360 | Location: Illinois | Registered: July 08, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of TD3550
posted Hide Post
The guys i know use the Milwaukee's in the shops.
Buy 2 for the price of 1 snapper. I believe it's 5 year warranty on the M and less on the S.
Here is a quick review. I always prefer brush less on anything.What a lame excuse. Excessive use.And your the only one.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVH0PbLAEls

Posts: 1409 | Location: Under a Truck | Registered: August 23, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Pro
Picture of T/D6591
posted Hide Post
I have pretty much gave up on all my Snap-on electric impacts. Nothing but battery problems and like you said loss of power. For the last 3 years i have been using Milwaukee and so far i have had no issues. I have the big 1/2 18 volt impact but most of the time i use the 3/8 impact.