New
Find
Notify
Tools

purifying oil
 Login/Join

DRR Trophy
posted Hide Post
Big time alcohol class racers do it all the time. Go over to insidetopalcohol.com and you will find a good amount of information. Don't let Eddy2m o o b s stop what is a good idea

Posts: 185 | Location: Indy | Registered: January 22, 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
Picture of wideopen231
posted Hide Post
He11 Ed not liking it is biggest thing to tell you that you should be doing it.

America home of free. Brought to you by 2nd amendment.

Posts: 4184 | Location: Greensboro NC | Registered: May 24, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
Picture of SC4400
posted Hide Post
I've been doing it for 20 years. I stick a mechanical gauge in the big pot I have and heat it with an electric grill. The hottest I've seen is about 180. I strain it through a point filter. For some reason bug like to commit suicide on the fumes? Big Grin It takes about 12 hours.

Me personally, I don't give a flying $*^# what mental midgets think about ANYTHING I do with my life. Full Moon

RIP

It's a dangerous time in America. The communists are inside the gates.
Our survival is not guaranteed.

Posts: 793 | Location: Lake Charles La | Registered: January 29, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Top Comp
Picture of wideopen231
posted Hide Post
Hey at 14 bucks a qt. and fellas I race with throw 5 to 7 gallons out a weekend. I have no problem spend few ours. Lets see if do 5 gallons at 56 per thats about 280 bucks save and thats about 10 gallons of nitro free right. LMAO

At 15% to 25% (1 to 3 gallons alky or close) on few occasions the nitro probably last longer than 5 gallons of oil.

By the way heating oil with nitro is not how to clean it,makers worst. Draining off after sitting while is about only way to get nitro out.

Posts: 4184 | Location: Greensboro NC | Registered: May 24, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
DRR Sportsman
posted Hide Post